LA CROSSE COUNTY HISTORIC SITES PRESERVATION COMMISSION

LA CROSSE COUNTY, WISCONSIN Administrative Center 400 4th Street North La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601-3200 Telephone (608)785-9563 Fax (608)789-4821

La Crosse County Historic Sites Preservation Commission

2006 Annual Report

Commission Members:

Vicki Twinde-Javner, Chair Barbara Kooiman, Vice Chair **Richard Bedessem** King Holley Kent Sween Jason Gillett Harriet Schuppel

Met nine (7) times in 2006 (Feb., Apr., May, June, July, Sept., Oct.) on first Friday of each month, 9:00 a.m., B390 Conference Room, La Crosse County Administrative Center, La Crosse. Due to scheduling conflicts, we did switch our meeting to the last Friday of the month.

Projects/tasks accomplished:

- Continued working on housekeeping task of compiling lists of non-approved resolutions for designated county sites. Working with zoning
- Made up and printed a brochure regarding how to nominate historical sites in La Crosse County (see enclosed brochure). Printed 300 brochures for distribution.
- Gave total of \$100 in county Preservation Grant money to two local historical organizations:

Onalaska Historical Society (\$600) for new display case

- Bangor Historical Society (\$400) for insulated blinds to use in their museum 0
- Made a list of potential new sites to designate to our historic sites list. Working
- Working with county Zoning, Planning and Land Information office on the La Crosse County Comprehensive Plan to see that historic preservation issues are adequately addressed in the plan (ongoing project)



2005 Annual Report by La Crosse County Historic Sites Preservation Commission Page 2