

# LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

#### Minutes of Committee on Transit and Active Transportation, January 9, 2025

**Minutes of the meeting of the CTAT** held in-person and as a virtual meeting on Teams on Thursday, January 9, 2025, at 3:30 pm.

**Members Present:** Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Francis Schelfhout, Jim Longhurst, Jenna Dinkel, Jim Krueger, Jason Ludwigson, Jenny Morris, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, and Andrew Ericson. **Staff and Others Present:** Erin Duffer, Bob Gollnik, Travis Key, Nikki Kvam, Chelsey Bolden, and Carl Glasemeyer.

Erin Duffer called the meeting to order at 3:30pm.

## 1) Approval of the minutes of the November 14, 2024, CTAT meeting.

Jenna Dinkel motioned to approve the minutes of the November 14, meeting; Jim Krueger seconded. All were in favor.

## 2) MTP Engagement Update.

Erin Duffer shared the attached summary of in-person engagement efforts thus far. As well the online survey will close at the end of the month. Over 500 survey responses and over 400 comments on the online comment map have been received. In-person engagement efforts will carry on through the spring.

#### 3) Review draft RFP for Regional Transit Authority Feasibility Study.

Erin Duffer shared the scope of the RFP with the committee, including public engagement, legislative summary, governance/organizational structure, financial feasibility, operational analysis, economic/community impact assessment, and a final report. Erin confirmed with committee members that the study will include considerations for bi-state transit. It was shared the Wisconsin Transit Riders Alliance has a primary goal of supporting the implementation of an RTA and should be kept in mind as the feasibility study moves forward.

#### 4) Discuss Miovision traffic counter study areas.

At the previous CTAT meeting, an Avon St, traffic count was proposed to get a before/after of its planned conversion to a greenway. Paula Silha shared school site pick-up and drop-off traffic counts may be beneficial to Safe Routes to School program and address congestion issues, especially at the Holmen schools. Jenna Dinkel shared Wagon Wheel Trail before and after may be beneficial and the 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Cycle Track.

## 5) Discuss 2025 goals.

The committee discussed how there are a lot of various plans in our area that have recommendations regarding transit. It was suggested that an analysis would be helpful to research overlaps within those plans.

### 6) Other updates and information items:

a. Transit Equity Days

## **Committee on Transit and Active Transportation**

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Andrew Ericson, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Brian McCoy, Jennifer Morris, Francis Schelfhout, Paula Silha, Maggie Smith, Cathy Van Maren.



# LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Cathy Van Maren shared the itinerary of events for the week of Transit Equity Days. Erin will share the link of events with the committee in an email.

#### b. Committee member updates.

Andrew Ericson shared in collaboration with UWL students and through a youth climate action grant with the City of La Crosse, 20 new bike parking posts were installed downtown.

Maggie Smith shared the Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC) had budget decreases affective ADRC's transit services, significantly impacting vulnerable populations who rely on the service for medical care.

Jenna Dinkel shared information on the WIS 35 Corridor study public involvement meeting and moving forward towards final design and engineering. Last month City of La Crosse eliminated off-street parking minimum requirements citywide. Next BPAC meeting will discuss e-scooters and their legal status within the City of La Crosse. And a pocket park is recommended for the north side of La Crosse near Caledonia Street.

Rick Diermeier updated that phase 2 of the Flyway Trail project will begin later this year.

# 7) Other business; Adjourn; next meeting TBA.

Paula Silha motioned to adjourn at 4:19pm; Jenna Dinkel seconded. All were in favor.

### **Committee on Transit and Active Transportation**

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Andrew Ericson, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Brian McCoy, Jennifer Morris, Francis Schelfhout, Paula Silha, Maggie Smith, Cathy Van Maren.