

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of the Committee on Transit and Active Transportation, November 14, 2024, Meeting

Minutes of the meeting of the CTAT held in-person and as a virtual meeting on Teams on Thursday, November 14, 2024, at 3:30 pm.

Members Present: Bridget Brown, Jim Longhurst, Jenna Dinkel, Ken Harwood, Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Maggie Smith, Francis Schelfhout, Jenny Morris, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, and Rick Diermeier. Staff and Others Present: Erin Duffer, Bob Gollnik, Travis Key, Nikki Kvam, and Leo Strand.

Erin Duffer called the meeting to order at 3:30pm.

1) Approval of the minutes of the September 12, 2024, CTAT meeting.

Jenna Dinkel motioned to approve the minutes of the September 12, meeting; Rick Diermeier seconded. All were in favor.

2) MTP Engagement Update.

Erin Duffer shared an update on engagement efforts with pop-up events, a walk-audit of UWL off-campus area, focus groups, the open house, and online survey. Engagement efforts will continue into 2025.

3) Discussion on Regional Transit Advocacy and Support.

Erin Duffer shared the memo that was created by LAPC staff, presented, and approved of by the Policy Board, regarding exploring options for transit advocacy and support. As well, the draft 2025 LAPC Planning Work Program, which is up for approval at the next Policy Board meeting, includes budget line item that can support these goals, under the program Safe and Accessible Transportation Options (SATO), also known as the Complete Streets set-aside. It is proposed that \$15,000 to be used to deploy the Miovision Traffic Counter to provide traffic, bike, and pedestrian counts of specific corridors to member communities at no-cost to the municipality. It was also discussed the SATO funds could be used to craft a Regional Transit Authority (RTA) feasibility study. There was much support from the CTAT on this proposal.

4) Discussion on 2025 goals.

The committee discussed how there was not stated goals in 2024 but would like to form ones for 2025.

5) Other updates and information items:

a. Committee member updates.

Rick Diermeier updated that phase 2 bids were received for the Flyway Trail and construction is anticipated in the spring of 2025.

Francis Schelfhout updated that TAP Redistribution funds will likely be high again and that the municipalities should work to get projects shovel ready to be eligible.

6) Other business; Adjourn; next meeting TBA.

Rick Diermeier motioned to adjourn at 4:26pm; Jim Kreuger seconded. All were in favor.

Committee on Transit and Active Transportation

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Jackie Eastwood, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Jennifer Morris Francis Schelfhout, Sandy Sechrest, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, Andrew Ericson.