

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of the Committee on Transit and Active Transportation, September 12, 2024, Meeting

Minutes of the meeting of the CTAT held in-person and as a virtual meeting on Teams on Thursday, September 12, 2024, at 3:30 pm.

Members Present: Bridget Brown, Jim Longhurst, Jenna Dinkel, Ken Harwood, Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Andrew Ericson, Jackie Eastwood, Francis Schelfhout, Jenny Morris, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy. Staff and Others Present: Erin Duffer, Bob Gollnik, Travis Key, Nikki Kvam, Chelsey Bolden, Maggie Smith, Jono Cowgill.

Erin Duffer called the meeting to order at 3:30pm.

- **1)** Approval of the minutes of the July 11, 2024, CTAT meeting. Jim Krueger motioned to approve the minutes of the July 11, meeting; Jenna Dinkel seconded. All were in favor.
- 2) Introduction to new MPO Transportation Planner, Travis Key.

Travis Key introduced himself as the newly added transportation planner and shared with the group about his background and interests.

3) SRF Introduction and MTP Outreach and Engagement.

Jono Cowgill with SRF Consulting shared highlights of their engagement strategy and some next steps. Jono conducted a Mentimeter interactive questionnaire with the members, soliciting opinions on regional transportation issues and needs to help form visioning and goals of the plan.

4) Discussion on Regional Transit Advocacy and Support.

Erin Duffer updated the committee on the motion to the Policy Board for the CTAT to support regional transportation coordination and a more proactive role in advocacy and policy. At their meeting on July 17, 2024, the Policy Board tabled the motion by the CTAT, so it could be included in the next meeting agenda as an action item. In preparation, Erin walked through the related memo LAPC crafted. Bob Gollnik shared that this was built from the 2016 bylaws and adds more specificity.

5) Other updates and information items:

a. WisDOT Federal Redistribution TAP Applications.

Erin Duffer updated the committee on the two approved Federal Redistribution TAP applications that were submitted in our planning area: Town of Shelby's 14/61 sidewalk project and the City of La Crosse's application for 5 new Drift Bike stations. Erin shared more information about the Town of Shelby project and Jenna Dinkel shared more about the City of La Crosse's.

b. City of La Crosse Bike Rodeo, September 19, 2024.

Jenna Dinkel told the committee about the city-wide bike rodeo they are hosting on September 19 and encouraged all to attend.

c. Week Without Driving Update.

Cathy Van Maren encouraged the committee to join in on the challenge for Week Without Driving and the point is to get people thinking about how we get around and what happens for people who don't

Committee on Transit and Active Transportation

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Jackie Eastwood, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Jennifer Morris Francis Schelfhout, Sandy Sechrest, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, Andrew Ericson.



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

have access to a car, especially local elected leaders. She shared information about the events going on that week in La Crosse too.

d. LAPC's UPWP and Complete Streets Planning.

Erin Duffer and Bob Gollnik told the committee that a portion of LAPC's 2025 budget will be allocated towards Complete Streets planning efforts, or safe and accessible multimodal transportation options. The draft of UPWP, including the Complete Streets planning elements, will go to Policy Board approval in November.

e. Committee member updates.

Jenna Dinkel shared that the City of La Crosse reapplied for their bike friendly community status, and they have an open survey to get feedback from the community.

Francis Schelfhout shared more information about the Federal Redistribution funds. The funds this year were unprecedentedly high with approximately \$100 million statewide, likely due to BIL. Francis suggested it is likely there will be this amount available again next year. These projects need to be shovel ready and recommends that local communities to do design-only in preparation.

6) Other business; Adjourn; next meeting TBA.

Jim Kreuger motioned to adjourn at 4:40pm; Ken Harwood seconded. All were in favor.

Committee on Transit and Active Transportation

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Jackie Eastwood, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Jennifer Morris Francis Schelfhout, Sandy Sechrest, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, Andrew Ericson.