

La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Metropolitan Planning Organization Serving the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area

Peter Fletcher, Director Jackie Eastwood, Transportation Planner
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th Street North
Room 2300
La Crosse, WI 54601
PH: 608.785.5977 Website: www.lacrossecounty.org/mpo

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE Minutes of June 15, 2022 Held via Microsoft Teams

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Patrick Barlow, Linda Seidel, Scott Schumacher, Mike Poellinger,
	Mitch Reynolds, Tim Candahl, Stan Hauser,
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Kim Smith, Bob Stupi, Josh Johnson, Monica Kruse
OTHERS PRESENT:	Peter Fletcher, Jackie Eastwood, Erin Klar (Recorder), Jane Klekamp,
	Charlotte Peters, Barb Janssen

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Linda Seidel called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum was called.

PUBLIC COMMENT: There was no public comment.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE MAY 18, 2022 LAPC MEETING

MOTION by Poellinger/Barlow to approve the minutes of the May 18, 2022 La Crosse Area Planning Committee meeting. **Motion carried unanimously with four excused; Smith, Stupi, Johnson, Kruse.**

APPROVE AMENDING THE 2022-2025 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM (RESOLUTION 5-2022)

The U. S. Department of Transportation regulations require the development and approval of a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for the metropolitan planning area by the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). The La Crosse Area Planning Committee approved the 2022-2025 TIP on November 17, 2021. Since adoption of the TIP, one (1) project has been added to the TIP project list: 243-22-029 CTH ZM, Town of Onalaska, CTH Z - CTH OT, Pavement Replacement, Design Anticipated in 2022, with Construction Anticipated in 2022 (Actual Construction in 2023).

MOTION by Reynolds/Poellinger to approve amending the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program. **Motion carried unanimously with four excused; Smith, Stupi, Johnson, Kruse.**

APPROVE PROJECT APPLICATION FOR BIL FFY 2022 STP-URBAN PROGRAM

After the May 18th LAPC meeting, we were notified by WisDOT that the MPO has \$884,502 in BIL STP-U 2022 funding allocation remaining. Due to time constraints of the program, only transit bus purchases would be eligible to utilize the remaining federal funding. MTU can take advantage of the funding opportunity and has submitted an application for two clean diesel buses. A requirement of the program is that the LAPC approve the STP-U 2022 Program application and funding.

MOTION by Poellinger/Seidel to approve application and funding for BIL FFY STP-Urban program. **Motion carried unanimously with four excused; Smith, Stupi, Johnson, Kruse.**



La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Metropolitan Planning Organization
Serving the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area

Peter Fletcher, Director Jackie Eastwood, Transportation Planner
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th Street North
Room 2300
La Crosse, WI 54601
PH: 608.785.5977 Website: www.lacrossecounty.org/mpo

APPROVE RANKED LIST OF WISDOT BIL FFY 2023-2026 STP-URBAN PROGRAM PROJECTS

The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law of 2021 (BIL) provided additional funding for the WisDOT STP-U Program. WisDOT established a June 3, 2022 deadline for accepting applications for the BIL FFY 2023-2026 STP-U Program solicitation. A total of thirteen applications were received for our planning area. WisDOT has not provided information on the MPO funding allocation for this BIL STP-U Program cycle and has not reviewed the applications for eligibility. WisDOT has extended the timeline for MPOs to rank/select applications. The applications will be prioritized by the TAC and reviewed and approved at the July 20th LAPC meeting.

OTHER BUSINESS - none noted.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- TIP Amendment
- BIL FFY 2023-2026 STP-U Program project rankings
- MnDOT presentation on transportation plans
- MnDOT TIP Project List

NEXT MEETING DATE: Wednesday, July 20, 2022 at 4:30 p.m.

MOTION by Poellinger/Candahl to adjourn the meeting at 4:09 p.m. **Motion carried unanimously with four excused; Smith, Stupi, Johnson, Kruse.**

Disclaimer: The above minutes may be approved, amended or corrected at the next committee meeting.

Recorded by Erin Klar