

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, March 8, 2023

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, March 8, 2023 in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Kurt Wayne, Stephanie Sward for Matt Gallager, Kevin Schubert for Jarrod Holter, Ken Harwood, Bill Waller, Loren Schwier, Jim Krueger, Chris Dahl, Paula Silha, Anna Pierce. Non-voting: Francis Schelfhout, WisDOT. **Guests and Staff:** Matthew Sorensen, Erika Shepard, Jason Ludwigson, Peter Fletcher, Jackie Eastwood.

Peter Fletcher called the meeting at 2:32 pm and asked for introductions with new agency representatives present. Ken Harwood is replacing Bob Gollnik for MRRPC and Erika Shepard will be replacing Anna Pierce for MnDOT.

1) Approval of the minutes of the January 11, 2023 TAC meeting:

Paula Silha motioned to approve the minutes of the January 11, 2023 meeting; Stephanie Sward seconded. All were in favor.

2) Recommendation to approve amending the 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program:

Peter Fletcher summarized the changes to the TIP tables and TIP document, which includes adding five new projects, and amending two existing projects, and incorporating approved WisDOT performance targets into the document. He stated that no comments came in during the comment period.

Kurt Wayne motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve amending the 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program as presented; Ken Harwood seconded. All were in favor.

3) Recommendation to approve City of La Crescent Carbon Reduction Program application:

Peter Fletcher stated that the La Crescent application had been modified from the previously approved application, which included charging stations. The new application only includes leasing an electric vehicle for a police vehicle. The CRP project needs to be in our TIP in May to make it into the Minnesota STIP in June.

Jim Krueger motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the La Crescent CRP application for \$12,000 to lease an electric vehicle; Paula Silha seconded. All were in favor.

4) MPO Urbanized Area update:

Peter Fletcher stated that the 2020 urban area boundary changed from 2010, resulting in West Salem becoming its own urban area and no longer part of the La Crosse-La Crescent urbanized area. This means that West Salem will no longer be eligible for STP-U funds but will be eligible for rural programs. The change occurred because the Census changed its criteria for defining urban areas. West Salem will remain part of the LAPC planning area and can still be a member if desired. Anna Pierce added that West Salem will no longer be eligible for 5307, which provides the funding for the Onalaska Shared Ride service. West Salem will have to work with Onalaska for a different funding source (5311, local) for shared ride service to West Salem.

5) Other updates and information items:

Peter Fletcher stated that the applications submitted for CRP in 2022 are no longer eligible. WisDOT pared down the federal list of eligible projects and it's unknown if that list will expand in future years. Eligible projects

include advanced transportation and congestion management technologies, replacement of street lighting and traffic control devices with energy efficient alternatives, and right-of-way projects that improve traffic flow without construction of new capacity.

Francis Schelfhout stated that he will now be responsible for all TAP and may likely be responsible for the CRP after Michael Erickson retires.

Peter Fletcher stated that the town of Holland is finishing up on a TAP application to pave the northern portion of the Holland Bluff Trail.

Francis Schelfhout stated that the original La Crosse Corridor Major project will be broken down into four separate projects that will be included in the May TIP amendment.

Anna Pierce introduced Erika Shepard who will be taking over MPO liaison duties over the next year.

6) May 2023 agenda items:

Agenda items are likely to be a May TIP amendment and an update on the CRP.

7) Other Business; Adjourn; Next meeting to be announced:

The next meeting will be held virtually and in person on Wednesday, May 8, 2023.

Jim Krueger motioned to adjourn at 3:02 pm; Kevin Schubert seconded. All were in favor.