

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, January 8, 2025

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, January 8, 2025, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Stephanie Sward, Paula Silha, Jim Krueger, Jarrod Holter, Bill Waller, Joe Langeberg, Jeffrey Tripp, Bryan McCoy and Brian McCoy.

Members Excused: Ken Harwood, Christina Peterson, Andrea Trane, Chris Dahl, Loren Schwier, Charlie Handy, and Voni Vegar. **Guests and Staff:** Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Francis Schelfhout, Nikki Kvam

Bob Gollnik called the meeting at 2:30pm.

1. Approval of minutes of the November 13, 2024, meeting.

Jim Krueger motioned to approve the minutes of the November 13 meeting; Joe Langeberg seconded. All were in favor.

2. Recommendation to approve amending the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List and Document.

Erin Duffer provided an overview of the items being amended in the TIP List and federal funding sources added to Table 2, Project Funding Sources in the document.

Jim Krueger motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the amendment to the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List and Document; Joe Langeberg seconded. All were in favor.

3. Upcoming RFPs update.

Bob Gollnik shared information about the drafted RFP for a Regional Transit Authority (RTA) Feasibility Study. RTAs have been listed as recommendations in the previous MTPs and other local plans and continues to be a topic of discussion surrounding transit in Wisconsin. Staff will continue updating the TAC on this progress.

Bob additionally shared that LAPC, in collaboration with the City of La Crosse, was awarded funds to complete the Safe Streets For All (SS4A) Comprehensive Safety Action Plan. The draft RFP was presented to the TAC for input.

4. MTP engagement update.

Erin Duffer shared the 2-pager summary of the in-person engagement activities that have taken place so far. The online survey will be closing the end of the month, and an update will be provided at the next TAC meeting.

5. March 2025 agenda items: 2025-2028 TIP Document and List amendment

Bob Gollnik shared that the next meeting will likely have a 2025-2028 TIP amendment and Jeff Tripp from the airport will give a presentation.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

6. Other business; Adjourn; Next meeting to be announced.

Jim Krueger shared that the MTU will be adding 5 new buses to their fleet early this year, followed by 4 new buses at the end of the year.

Paula Silha discussed the need for more complete streets as a standard and how it impacts safe routes to school.

Bryan McCoy shared that Erika Shepherd has taken a different position with MnDOT and Bryan will be the point of contact for MnDOT MPO planning efforts for the time being.

Bill Waller shared La Crescent is excited for progress on the Wagon Wheel Trail.

Jim Krueger motioned to adjourn at 3:04pm; Stephanie Sward seconded. All were in favor.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout