

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, January 8, 2025

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, March 12, 2025, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Stephanie Sward, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Paula Silha, Bryan McCoy, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy

Members Excused: Jim Krueger, Christina Peterson. **Guests and Staff:** Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Jason Nordberg, Francis Schelfhout, Nikki Kvam, Chelsea Bordon

Bob Gollnik called the meeting at 2:30pm.

1. Approval of minutes of the January 8, 2025, meeting.

Charlie Handy motioned to approve the minutes of the January 8, 2025, TAC meeting; Jarrod Holter seconded. All were in favor.

2. La Crosse Regional Airport presentation.

Jeffrey Tripp presented an update of the La Crosse Regional Airport to the TAC. The presentation included the capital funding and operating budget for the 2025 fiscal year. The airport is planning infrastructure upgrades to its public facing facilities, networking fiber, and taxiway rehabilitation for the 2026 budget.

2-Phase project to decommission runway 4/22 is planned to be developed by the airport in addition to general drainage improvements to the entire airport site.

3. Recommendation to approve amending the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List and Document.

Erin Duffer provided an overview of the items being amended in the TIP List, Project amendments in the document.

Jeffrey Tripp motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the amendment to the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List and Document; Stephanie Sward seconded. All were in favor.

4. MTP engagement update.

Travis and Erin shared the engagement summary prepared by SRF Consulting, and a brief overview of themes captured so far by public engagement. The online surveys closed at the end of January, and some more focus groups are planned to wrap up the public engagement portion of MTP development.

5. 2024 Federal obligated projects list update.

Erin shared a table summarizing all 2024 disbursed federal funds for projects included in the Transportation Improvement Program.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy,
Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy,
Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy
Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

6. May 2025 agenda items: 2025-2028 TIP amendment

Francis provided an update about Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) solicitation. Program is expected to accept solicitations beginning in June with more details yet to come, also likely in June. Solicitation will close in October with awards going out in spring. Applications will be submitted through a portal this round.

7. Other business; Adjourn; Next meeting to be announced.

Bob Calls for future TAP projects to be conveyed to LAPC staff to be included in the TIP.

Charlie asks for guidance on how to advocate for increased in transit funding. Jason Nordberg says that this group is the correct avenue to advocate for more financial support by encouraging staff to include needs in plans and for staff to advocate where feasible for legislative support.

Paula Silha is retiring between this TAC meeting and the next, the group thanks Paula for her contributions and staff are directed to coordinate with Rachel King from Health and Human Services Dept. to coordinate Paula's replacement in the TAC.

Jeffrey Tripp motioned to adjourn at 3:33pm; Paula Silha seconded. All were in favor.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy,
Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy,
Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy
Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout