

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, July 10, 2024

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, September 11, 2024, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Stephanie Sward for Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Kevin Schubert for Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Christina Peterson, Erika Shepherd, Joe Langeberg, Paula Silha, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, and Brian McCoy.

Members Excused: Chris Dahl, Bill Waller, and Voni Vegar. **Guests and Staff:** Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Chelsey Bolden, Nikki Kvam, Bryan McCoy, Jono Cowgill, Francis Schelfhout, and Dena Ryan.

Bob Gollnik called the meeting at 2:30pm.

1. Approval of minutes of the July 10, 2024, meeting.

Charlie Handy motioned to approve the minutes of the July 10, 2024, meeting; Jim Krueger seconded. All were in favor.

2. Introduction to new MPO Transportation Planner, Travis Key.

Travis Key introduced himself and shared a bit about his background and education. The committee welcomed him to the team.

3. Recommendation to approve amending the 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).

Erin Duffer provided an overview of the items being amended, including ten (10) projects added to the TIP List and changes to five (5) other existing projects.

Stephanie Sward motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the amendment to the 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List; Jim Krueger seconded. All were in favor.

4. Recommendation to approve the MN 2025-2028 TIP List.

Erin Duffer shared an overview of the projects on the Minnesota side of the MPA that will be included in the 2025-2028 TIP List.

Charlie Hand motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the Minnesota 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List; Christina Peterson seconded. All were in favor.

5. SRF Introduction and MTP Outreach and Engagement.

Jono Cowgill with SRF Consulting shared some highlights of their engagement strategy and some next steps. Jono conducted a Mentimeter interactive questionnaire with the TAC, soliciting opinions on regional transportation issues and needs to help form the visioning and goals of the plan.

6. November 2024 agenda items: 2025-2028 TIP Document and List

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy,
Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Erika Shepard,
Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy
Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Bob Gollnik shared that the next meeting will have the review and action item for the 2025-2028 TIP document and list and there will likely be another 2024-2027 TIP amendment.

7. Other business; Adjourn; Next meeting to be announced.

Charlie Handy updated the group about Week Without Driving events during the last week of September this year and encouraged the committee to participate and share with their constituents.

Bob Gollnik shared the Operation Lifesaver will be coming to the area on September 23 and 24 for events regarding Rail Safety Week. There will be a press events, a law enforcement roundtable, a community presentation at the Bangor Public Library, and presentations at several schools and boys and girls clubs.

Francis Schelfhout mentioned that the Federal Redistribution TAP funds were awarded to the Town of Shelby for the sidewalk project and the City of La Crosse for the bike share program. There have been discussions at the state level that this program will likely happen again a year from now. Francis encourage those who can start to look at funding designs at the local level to be project ready for this opportunity again.

Charlie Handy motioned to adjourn at 3:35pm; Paula Silha seconded. All were in favor.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy,
Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Erika Shepard,
Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy
Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout